Gmail now lets you mail in Indian Languages.

Google has introduced new feature in Gmail which lets you to mail in 5 major Indian Languages. Currently you can mail in Hindi, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam.

gmail in indian languages

Gmail automatically enables this feature if you are an Indian. If this isn’t enabled by default for you, you can go to “Settings” and enable this at the “Languages” section to get started. Once enabled you get a small language icon in the toolbar of Compose page.

Clicking on that icon will show the list of 5 languages. You can choose the language of yours and start typing. To type in your own language, you have to type the same thing in English first. For example, if it is Kannada, I type “namaskara” in English and it will automatically covert it tonamaskara in Kannada

Sadly, this feature can only be used by Firefox and Internet Explorer users at the moment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>